Autism and Eye Contact

Since my full disclosure about being Autistic (or as I prefer Neuro-divergent) my usual first response from friends is, “but, you don’t struggle with eye contact.” That may appear as such to those that know me, but it is not actually accurate. I thought I would share this with you all to help explain what eye contact and autism have to do with each other. My eye contact is different. Autism is in the brain, you cannot always “see” it. My eye contact may not mean the same thing as it does to neuro-typical people. It actually does hurt when I force myself to keep looking.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

